Leaving Certificate Biology: IBIOLI Gold Medal Winners, 2018

Submitted by admin on Mon, 12/10/2018 - 11:59
Written by
Frank McGourty, Secretary, IBIOLI
Gold Medal Winners 2018

In the photo are the medal award winners, named from left to right, their school and teacher of Biology (in brackets).
Caoimhe Mahony, St Angela’s School, Ursuline Convent, Waterford (Ms Grainne Enright); Rachel Ann O’Connor, St Mary’s Secondary School, Charleville, Co. Cork (Ms Margaret Noonan); Dylan Walsh, The High and Diocesan School, Zion Rd., Rathgar, D6 (Mr Len McBride); Katy White, Mountrath Community School, Dysartbeigh, Mountrath, Co. Laoise (Dr Mary Kelly); 
Marina Politis, Sandford Park School, D6 (Dr Dana Kilroy).

The Institute of Biology of Ireland awarded Gold Medals to each of five 2018 Leaving Certificate Biology students at a ceremony in the National Botanic Gardens on November 29th 2018. These annual awards for excellence in Biology are made to the highest performing students in the current year’s Leaving Certificate examinations.

Congratulations to all the students, to the teachers and the schools. 

The Institute of Biology of Ireland look forward to making similar awards in 2019.

For further information on the IBIOLI sponsored awards, including the Professor Michael Hennerty Memorial Prize and Medal, please review the Awards section.

Visit us at www.ibioli.net to find out more about our work. 

We would also welcome applications for membership from the many teachers of Biology throughout the country.